This is an archive of the 2011 Leeds Book Award website. The current version is here.

Leeds Book Awards - Home

Welcome to the Leeds Book Awards website.

Leeds Book Awards 2011


  • 9-11 Category: Mortlock by Jon Mayhew
  • 11-14 Category: The Dead by David Gatward
  • Breezereads 14-16 Category: Angel by L A Weatherly

For full details of the finale events please see our events page.

The 2011 shortlists contain a great selection of books:

9-11 Category

  • Elen Caldecott, How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini
  • Katie Davies, The Great Hamster Massacre
  • Sophie McKenzie, Time Train to the Blitz
  • Jon Mayhew, Mortlock
  • Andrew Newbound, Demon Strike
  • Christine and Christopher Russell, The Quest of the Warrior Sheep

11-14 Category

  • Teresa Flavin, The Blackhope Enigma
  • David Gatward, The Dead
  • Candy Gourlay, Tall Story
  • Chris Priestley, The Dead of Winter
  • Laura Summers, Desperate Measures
  • Jenny Valentine, The Double Life of Cassiel Roadnight

14-16 Category

  • Malorie Blackman, Boys Don't Cry
  • Helen Grant, The Glass Demon
  • Matt Haig, The Radleys
  • William Hussey, Dawn of the Demontide
  • Paul Magrs, Diary of a Doctor Who Addict
  • L A Weatherly, Angel

For full details of the shortlisted books and their authors, please go to the shortlists page.

The 2010 and 2009 Leeds Book Awards websites are still available.

Want to take part? Here's how:


You get to be the judge!

Look at the shortlist categories on this website and choose which list is best for you.

We have 3 categories to choose from:

Find out more about Breezereads at

Read the books and talk about them with your friends, teachers, carers and librarians.

Look at the authors' (or their publishers') websites to find out more about them and all the books they have written.

Look at the reviews on this website to see what others think and have your say.

Decide which is your favourite book and VOTE!


  • You can vote for your favourite book in your local library or through your Leeds Book Awards school book group.
  • Voting won't close until Friday 29th April 2011, so don't worry, there is plenty of time to make up your mind.
  • When all the votes have been counted, the winners will be announced on Tuesday 24th May 2011.

The Awards

There will be a celebration day and Awards ceremonies on Tuesday 24th May 2011, and some of the shortlisted authors will be there for you to meet.

For more information about which authors are coming, look at our News page, and for more information about the Awards ceremonies and other exciting events, go to the Events page.

So, start reading, and most of all... have fun!!!

Leeds City Council

Sponsored by
Micro Librarian Systems
Micro Librarian Systems